IPL 2018 Champions : Chennai Super Kings

A twitter user very aptly tweeted this after the IPL 2018 Final:

“And the Sun sets as the Lion stood still”

It’s Whistle Podu this year that trumps the Rising Sun from Hyderabad thus conceeding their fourth defeat against the same side in a single edition of IPL, a new record.

It was all a one man show when Chennai came out to bat in the second innings after the mighty Sunrisers put up a a mammoth 178 runs for the loss of 6 wickets at Wankhede.

Watson, the man of the tournament in the first edition of IPL and one of the better success stories of IPL scored a brilliant century in this edition of IPL to take the Yellow army home with the shining trophy.

He took 10 balls to get off the mark but a quickfire assault later assured that he finished 117 not out of just 57 balls, which essentially he made in just 47 balls. The in-form Faf got out at the start with tremendous pressure building up as Bhuvaneswar Kumar bowled 9 dot balls on the trot. But after that, it was just Elementary for Dear Watson.

There was no doubt that the two best teams of this IPL were in the playoffs as the two table toppers clashed for the Final and it can be rightly said that this was one of the closest IPLs ever.

Other awards were given out:

MVP : Sunil Narine(KKR)

Super Striker : Sunil Narine(KKR)

Fairplay Award : Mumbai Indians

Orange Cap : Kane Williamson(SRH)

Purple Cap : Andrew Tye(KXIP)

Perfect Catch : Trent Boult (DD)

Styling Player : Rishabh Pant(DD)

Best Ground : Eden Gardens

A proper fairytale etched by the men from Chennai who were at a time trolled for their “senior” team. Dhoni has again proved his calibre as a Champion captain.

Just a quick note, all the teams who were in the Qualifiers were past champions. Other teams such as Delhi Daredevils, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab have to do to something to get their stumps straight enough in the next year to not get knocked down again.


Leave a Reply